I’m Back…

Hey guys how’s everyone been doing? Yes I have been missing from sometime, so firstly let me start by saying I’m sorry 😭. But I truly have miss all of you and I want to say thank you for not jumping ship.

So what have I’ve been up to? I’m guessing you all want to know where I have been and what I’ve been doing? Well go grab a drink and get comfortable because it’s going to be a good one lol.

well let me start of by filling you in so I have been so busy being a Donor Carer. I know some of you are wondering now what is that? well I’m tell you so I now work for the NHS Blood and Transplant organization taking people’s blood, they come in and donate it to help with people who need regular blood transfusions or any other medical condition which requires to receive blood. Did you know that on average it take 100 people to save someone’s life.

Why did I choose this occupation you say? Well for me as some of you know I receive 6 units of blood every 7 weeks, and this was a way of me getting the opportunity to say thank you to all those who take their time to come and donate blood in order for me to live a semi normal life. Do I enjoy it? Of course it’s so rewarding getting to meet new people everyday and asking them the question of “what brought you in today? Or “what’s your reason for wanting to donate blood?” An the stories I hear, some have you wanting to be in tears but you’re having to hold them back to be professional and some are because they know someone who has Sickle Cell and want to help. An that to me makes them a hero in my eyes and for me getting the opportunity to say thank you is amazing.

so that’s what I have been doing, yes it’s challenging because you’re in your feet for a large majority of the day but I love it and wouldn’t have it any other way. And to me it’s a barrier I get to break down and tell my other Warriors that there is nothing you can’t do and I think I’m the only sickle cell person who receives blood to be doing my job. Once you set your mind to something do it I say within reason of course I don’t want to hear or see “but Marsha said I can do it lol” no no no I said within reason so leave the sky diving alone walk away lol 🤣.

Yes while doing this job it does take a toll on my body, but I have been one of those warriors who listens to their body and I don’t over push my body to the limit. Yes I still get my mini crisis from time to time and still work but I have an amazing team who understands and when I’m having a off day they help to pick up the bits that I just can’t physically do, so that helps in a huge way.

Within this role I have met some amazing people and I have gotten the opportunity to be involved in some amazing campaigns and projects, an I have this job to thank for it. Not only do I get to share my stories with donors but I get to educate people who may not know about sickle cell or enough about it. An what’s so amazing is that when you tell people that I have sickle cell and receive blood I get the shocked an amazed look of you don’t look like a person who is sick. And then our conversation flows and they leave the session feeling like they are super heroes. An to me that’s the best feeling in the world.

so would I change jobs? No not for a second the only thing that I will do is to continue to grow within my role and be the best Donor Carer out there and continue to help save lives and spread the word about sickle cell.

well until next time readers and yes there will be a next time as I have so much to share the campaigns I’ve done and also what the choir is up to. So stay tuned.

and don’t forget always slay your crown 🥰😘

Leave a comment